Executive board and bodies of the university

Rectorate: The rectorate legally the board of the university. It consists of the rector, the chancellor and three protectors. It deals with the daily political work and decides about the personnel development the university intern infrastructure. Furthermore, the rectorate prepares guideline decisions about the strategic orientation and development of the university. For example, the rectorate decides about construction measures and institutional contracts.

The rector represents the university. He/she is elected by the professors that form the University council, is confirmed by the senate and appointed by the Ministry of Science. He/she oversees the budgetary law of the university, chairs the Senate and the committees.

The protectors are on one hand the deputies of the rector, on the other hand they are individual decision makers in their own competence areas. The rector nominates the three protectors, the senate elects them and the University Council confirms the vote:

  1. Protector for international affairs
  2. Protector for research
  3. Protector for academics

Senate: The Senate is the internal decision-making body, in which different university members come together. The entire rectorate with the rector as chair, the deans and the equality officer are members ex officio. Additionally, nine professors, three non-scientific and three scientific members of the university, and four students of the university do get elected. Although the meetings are close, the protocols are accessible to anybody. The Senate discusses and positions itself to directive decisions of the university. Examples are the structural-, and development plan, as well as the appointment of new professors. It decides about the conditions of the degree programs and audits, whether the resolutions of the sections, faculties and its committees are in terms of the university. The Senate is free to form advisory or decision-making committees. Following committees are permanently established, according to the basic order of the university:

  1. Committee on education and advanced training (ALW)
  2. Committee on research questions (AFF)
  3. Committee on communication and information (AKI)
  4. Equality council

Committee on education and advanced training (ALW): The ALW committee affiliates to the Senate as well as to the rectorate and processes nearly all matters of education, in these bodies. It gets consulted if a new degree program is installed, examination or admission regulations get changed or in case of the latter, installed. Furthermore, it oversees the means for quality assurance, that the university receives from the federal state as a compensation for former university fees.

Equality council: The Equality council is elected by the senate out of the pool of the female scientific personnel and is entitled to consult any university body. Its task is to counteract any act of discrimination (disability, sexuality…) and reduce it if possible.


University council: The University Council is an external decision-making body of the university, which is comparable to a company board. It consists of seven people who are no members of the university. Momentarily, members of the economy and a few university lecturers of other universities form the council. A committee consisting of one member of the Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst (Ministry for Science, Research and Arts) and three members of the Senate elects the members (a student member of the commission and a member of the equality council get consulted).

The University council elects the chancellor and the rector. It decides on all guiding principles and long-term decisions concerning the university, as for example on the financial, cultural and economic development. Thus, it has the most extensive decision-making authority. The rectorate gets consulted. Other university members can neither attend the meetings nor view the protocols.

Weitere Fragen oder Anmerkungen?
Email an